Tacoma Defiance Signs Defender Everardo Rubio

Rubio spent four seasons with Murciélagos FC in the Mexican Second Division; Defiance roster now sits at 19 players ahead of Saturday's match vs. El Paso Locomotive FC at Cheney Stadium (7:00 p.m. PT / ESPN+).

Tacoma Defiance today announced that it has signed defender Everardo Rubio. The signing is pending receipt of his P-1 Visa and International Transfer Certificate. The 22-year-old has played the last four seasons with Murciélagos FC in Mexico. The signing brings the Defiance roster to 19 players ahead of Saturday’s match against El Paso Locomotive FC at Cheney Stadium (7:00 p.m. PT / ESPN+).

“Ever will bring some additional experience and skill to our backline,” said Sounders FC Director of Player Development Marc Nicholls. “He is an athletic defender who reads the game very well for his age.”

Rubio has totaled 1,482 minutes across 20 matches in the last four seasons for Murciélagos FC, including 18 starts. He made his professional debut at 18 years of age in Ascenso MX, the second professional level of the Mexican soccer system.

The left-footed centerback also appeared in 72 matches in the Liga Premier Second Division, and was a playoffs finalist in the 2016 Clausura. Rubio was named captain of his club for the 2018-2019 season.

Tacoma Defiance returns to action on Saturday, June 1 at Cheney Stadium vs. El Paso Locomotive FC (7:00 p.m. PT / ESPN+). The club then embarks on a four-match road swing, beginning with a contest at Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC on Saturday, June 8 (5:00 p.m. PT / ESPN+).

Transaction: Tacoma Defiance signs defender Everardo Rubio on May 31, 2019.

Name: Everardo Rubio
Position: Defender
Height: 6-0
Weight: 172
Born: December 24, 1996 in Culiacán, Mexico
Hometown: Culiacán, Mexico
Citizenship: Mexico

The Defiance current roster is listed below by positional breakdown.


Defenders (7): Aleks Berkolds, Nick Hinds, Matt Nance, Modou Ndow, Sam Rogers, Everardo Rubio, Denso Ulysse

Midfielders (7): Josh Atencio, Antonee Burke-Gilroy, Jesse Daley, Ben Numbi, Danny Robles, Joel Rydstrand, Marlon Vargas

Forwards (5): Justin Dhillon, Alec Diaz, Azriel Gonzalez, Shandon Hopeau, Ray Serrano